Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction
Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G37? Find out the answer in here!

G37X Another bearing failure.

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2015, 01:59 PM
fuzzed

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
G37X Another bearing failure.

Hello,

I have a 2009 g37x which i bought in December with about 60,000 km. In June of this year, I noticed a humming and a vibration in the steering wheel, and it had it checked out. Ended up being the front passenger wheel bearing. At the time I thought it was a bit odd, but hey things happen. Yesterday the noise and vibration came back. (approx 70,000 km) I took it to the dealership this morning, and they are reporting it is the front driver side bearing. Fortunately, my powertrain warranty expires tomorrow, so it will be covered.

But at this point, in my 10 months of ownership, my oil changes are the same number as my bearing replacements. I am no mechanic, but this seems a bit off.

I have done a search on the forum and on the interweb and this does not seem to be a common issue. Any thoughts? A bad bunch of bearings from the manufacturer or? unfortunately I do not have the prior service records.

Any thoughts?

Edit. Failure is technically not the right term, it has not failed yet, it is on it's way out...

Last edited by fuzzed; 09-29-2015 at 02:05 PM. Reason: clarity
Old 09-29-2015, 02:51 PM
JSolo
Just say no!!!!!

Received 588 Likes on 492 Posts
I wouldn't lose too much sleep over it. Bearings will fail at some point. Perhaps a seal is starting to fail which causes contamination of the grease inside. I don't recall reading too many complaints about wheel bearing failures but it does happen.

There is no maintenance for wheel hubs which I believe is what's on the rear (sealed hub assembly?). So maintenance records won't help in this case.