D.I.Y. Installations/Modifications Do It Yourself guides and information for the G37. Stickies approved by Administrators and Moderators.

Third Brake Light Flasher

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2016, 07:42 PM
Arxylis
Average Joe

Received 51 Likes on 29 Posts
Third Brake Light Flasher

Here's my first DIY contribution to the forums!

I recently installed a brake light flasher module on my CHMSL (Center High Mount Stop Lamp) in the spoiler of my coupe. As a Firefighter and EMT I have seen the worst of the worst when it comes to bad and distracted drivers. I figure that any measure of safety helps; and making myself more visible when braking just may keep me from being rear-ended by some chucklehead that wasn't focusing on the task at hand.

I came across this little module on Amazon for about $30. It not only flashes whatever light you have it connected to, it also has an accelerometer in it so that it can vary the flash response depending on how hard you've applied the brakes.

Tools required:
  • Flathead screwdriver or clip removal tool
  • Wire stripper/crimper
  • Double sided foam tape
  • Small zip ties

Wiring diagram

Installation

Remove the trunk liner

Disconnect the center tail light plug from the harness. The clip is on the back side

Strip back the plastic sheath around the wires. Black is ground and Green is +12VDC

Attach included T-Tap connector to the black wire of the brake light and the black wire of the flasher module

Cut green wire of the brake light and strip back about a quarter inch of insulation on each end

Crimp the included male bullet connectors onto either end of the green brake light wire

Crimp the included female bullet connectors onto the yellow and red wires of the flasher module (You may want to strip back some additional insulation on them)

Connect the male and female connectors, then plug the brake light plug back into the harness