D.I.Y. Installations/Modifications Do It Yourself guides and information for the G37. Stickies approved by Administrators and Moderators.

Removing Amber/headlight baking.......

Old 01-21-2008, 01:23 AM
UNV-IT46

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Removing Amber/Headlight baking/Removing F Bumper

Ok many of you have asked for this from me and I finally got all my notes together and all pictures edited for this DYI. This mod is to remove the amber reflector in our headlights. Let me start off by saying This is not an official way of doing this and you can easily damage your headlights if you do not know what you are doing. This is only my personal way of doing this to headlights. I have been doing it for many many years now and have a lot of experience doing this. I will not be held liably for anyone trying this and damaging their headlights.
Now on a scale from 1-10 on the hard scale i would rate this at a 6 1/2-7. If you have never done anything like this at all plan to spend 6-8 hours total for this project. Plus 24 hours cure time when you are done to let the sealant harden on the lights. If you are uncertain if you can handle doing this yourself DO NOT DO IT! You will screw your lights up if your not confident in what you are doing. If you really want this done and are affraid of doing it yourself contact me through pm I offer helping people get this done.

Now that we are done with that let me start off by telling you what tools you will need. All tooks can be had at any local hardware store.

2 phillips head screw drivers, one short one long
2 flat head screw drivers
1 10mm socket
1 ratchet
1 ratchet extender
needle nose pliers(incase you have fat hands and fingers)
1 lighter/blow torch
1 pair of mechanic heat proof gloves
1 thick blanket
1 tube of silicon adhesive sealant any color you want(i use black)
2 towels

Optional items

1 Floor Jack
2 Jack stands

Now once you have all your items handy and ready to go its time to get started.